Minimum car insurance requirements in Virginia
Virginia requires car insurance for all motor vehicles operated or parked on the commonwealth’s roadways. You’ll need to carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. You’ll need to show it if a law enforcement officer asks for it, when you renew your vehicle registration, or if you get in an accident.
To register a vehicle and drive in Virginia, you’ll need to carry a minimum of:
$30,000 per person bodily injury coverage
$60,000 per accident bodily injury coverage
$20,000 property damage liability coverage
Take note that those limits will rise for policies effective on or after Jan. 1, 2025, when you’ll have to carry bodily injury coverage of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident, and property damage coverage of $25,000.
Virginia DMV information
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles manages driver’s licensing, private vehicle titling and registration, and commercial permitting and registration. Through the DMV website, you can make an appointment at a DMV location, renew your registration or driver’s license, change your address, report a vehicle sold or traded, and buy a license plate.
Public transportation in Virginia
The Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation operates the Virginia Breeze, a bus service with routes that connect rural areas of the state to the national bus network. Additionally, Amtrak passenger trains run between several Virginia cities, including Richmond and Norfolk, to points of interest inside and outside the state.
You’ll need to rely on a car or other form of motor vehicle transportation to navigate around the state, but some Virginia cities are very walkable. For example, the website Walk Score gives Arlington a score of 71 for walkability and 72 for cycling. The Virginia REALTORSⓇ Association gives Arlington a walkability score of 69, noting that only some errands can be accomplished on foot.